I did not enjoy reading this excerpt at all.  It was very hard for me to stay focused on what Campbell was trying to say because I personally thought the topics he discussed were very boring.  I caught myself being sidetracked multiple times.  Campbell discussed many different topics, but I found just about all of them very dull.  One quote that did appeal to me was when he said, “Typically, the hero of the fairy tale achieves a domestic, microcosmic triumph, and the hero of myth a world-historical, macrocosmic triumph.”  This is one statement I did agree with.  Part of it I think has to do with that fairy tales are made for a younger crown many times involving many fictional aspects.  For example, Beauty and the Beast is fairy tale that just about everyone hears as a child.  The achievement of the two characters falling in love may not be extreme, but the fact that the story is aimed for children and teaching morals makes is a successful fairy tale.  Myths are usually more for an older crowd more than children.  When I think of myths, the first thing that comes to mind is the Greek Gods, who were immortal and had magic powers.  Naturally these characters would be able to achieve more “macroscopic” things.

